Today's Mail

Today’s Mail – 3rd June 2015

SAM_6477

I’d started to worry as I hadn’t received much in the way of mail for the past two weeks or so.  I’d been waiting on numerous stamps won in eBay auctions, several for longer than the average three weeks.  I felt that I’d receive something on the day following Monday’s Vesak Buja holiday but there was nothing…

Austria062When I returned home this evening, one of the young women who work at the front desk of my guesthouse came rushing up to me:  “Mr. Mark, you have mail!”  She then gave me a stack of fourteen envelopes from seven different countries, almost all fairly festooned with colorful stamps.  I often wonder what the staff things about the amount of mail I receive and the decorations thereon.

Yes, it was a really good mail day.  Recently, I’ve been purchasing individual stamps needed for one or another of my various topical collections and to add to my A Stamp From Everywhere collection.  Today’s mail brought a total of 137 stamps from 110 different countries; most of these were in one packet sold as “100 different stamps from 100 different countries” which turned out to be an excellent mix.  I was able to add 39 “new” countries to the ASFEW list:

  • Albania
  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Belgian Congo
  • Cameroun
  • Colombia
  • Dubai
  • Faroe Islands
  • German Offices in China
  • German Offices in Morocco
  • Gibraltar
  • Gilbert & Ellice Islands
  • Gold Coast
  • Grenada-Grenadines
  • Macedonia
  • Malagasy Republic
  • Malaya
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands Indies
  • Niger
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Rhodesia & Nyasaland
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Spanish Sahara
  • St. Vincent
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Tripolitania
  • Uganda
  • United Nations-New York
  • Upper Volta
  • Venezuela
  • Yugoslavia (Kingdom of Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia)

This brings me the total of stamp-issuing entities in the ASFEW collection to 229.  I really need to get cracking on the album pages; I’ve only created pages for eight countries thus far.

Madonna-of-Bruges001aThere were also three postcards amongst all of this mail, which I’d purchased on eBay – two showing buildings in Nashville, Tennessee (The Hermitage and The Parthenon reproduction) to add to a planned “My Life In Stamps and Cards”-themed collection, the other portraying the famous Madonna of Bruges statue inspired from my viewing of the movie The Monuments Men and subsequent reading of the book.  I’ll blog about those on “Please, Mr. Postman!” sometime in the near future.

20150603-000aI try my best to “process” new stamps as soon as I can after they arrive.  This entails marking them as “received” in a spreadsheet where I track my eBay activities and then scanning the stamps.  I then need to straighten and crop the images before finally entering them into my inventory program of choice (StampManage 2015) and then putting them in stock books until the time I can add them to proper stamp album pages.  Scanning is the most time-consuming part of the process as I scan each one individually at 1200 dpi.  I’ll write-up the entire routine in much greater detail someday soon, along with a review of StampManage, for this blog. 

 

I wish all days were as good mail days as this one was…

Happy Collecting!

1 thought on “Today’s Mail – 3rd June 2015”

Leave a Reply

