Collecting Worldwide, My Life in Stamps, Pioneers of Aviation, Places I've Visited, Today's Mail, Topical Pursuits

Today’s Mail – 7th July 2015

20150708-001o

Another day, another mail delivery, another new country.  I’m really enjoying the current streak of receiving at least one piece of mail each day.  Gives me something to look forward to on the bus journey home from work.  I’ve noticed that eBay sellers from certain countries such as India, Israel, anywhere in Eastern Europe, etc. don’t get bid on as much as those in the United States, the UK, Germany, or Australia.  I don’t know if that’s out of fear the items won’t arrive or some other reason but I’ve picked up stamps at a steal by looking for these sellers.  I’ve never had one go astray…

This was my first auction won from India and the stamps arrived in less than two weeks, nicely packaged.  The best part is that the seller didn’t try to make the stamps even more secure by enclosing the glassine envelopes or stock cards with copious amounts of tape.  This seems to be the habit of far too many dealers and I’m always afraid that I will damage the stamps when attempting to peel or cut away the tape.  At any rate, I’ll be bidding on this seller’s auctions again very soon.

20150708-000-300dpi

Seven stamps arrived – three from Cambodia released on 12 April 1986 showing Angkor-style ruins.  They are the three low values (Scott #677-679) from a set of seven promoting Khmer culture and are set for inclusion in a thematic collection I’m calling “My Life in Stamps”, specifically in a section of stamps portraying places I’ve visited.

The remaining four stamps are my first from the People’s Republic of Congo and were issued on 17 December 1993 to mark the 90th anniversary of manned flight.  Scott numbers 1049 to 1052 feature the Wright Brothers and the Model B Flyer in flight at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.  They are, of course, additions to my “Pioneers of Aviation” topical collection so I’ll have to so I’ll have to find another PR of Congo stamp to add to the ASFEW album…

Happy Collecting!

Leave a Reply

