Collecting Worldwide, Philately on Stamps, Today's Mail, Topical Pursuits

Today’s Mail – 6th July 2015

20150706-001a20150706-002

Only six days into the month, and I’ve received mail on four of those days which leads me to believe that my regular letter carrier may be back on the job following a lengthy holiday.  In fact, I’m sure of it as I found today’s two envelopes on a table next to the entrance of my guesthouse as he is too lazy to walk another few feet and leave the mail at the reception desk.  My previous complaint on this matter fell on deaf ears (the message I received made it sound as if they were doing me a favor by delivering my mail at all!); it’s a wonder that more of my mail doesn’t go astray.  Indeed, it appears that the old-time collection in Stanley Gibbons binder on Scott Modern pages that I ordered from Canada at the beginning of May is one rare MIA parcel (and I have just been given a refund for that; I’d much rather of had the album and stamps…).

20150706-000a

At any rate, the envelopes containing stamps almost always make it through and today I received two from Europe, both of which arrived a mere eleven days after I’d placed the orders.  From Spain, I received four stamps from Spanish Andorra (a “new” country in the A Stamp From Everywhere collection) – single stamps (Scott #102a-d) from a sheet of four issued on 31 March 1978 to mark the 50th anniversary of Spanish postal services in Andorra.

The order from France contained what is possibly my favorite stamp portraying the hobby of philately.  The most famous of all American stamp collectors was definitely Franklin D. Roosevelt and the hobby received an unprecedented amount of public awareness in the United States during his long presidency.  He was a truly remarkable man, as well as an astute politician, and I plan to write a brief profile of FDR once I have obtained a few more stamps picturing him to illustrate the article.

Monaco003

This airmail release by Monaco (Scott #C16) appeared on 15 May 1947 as part of a set issued to commemorate the principality’s participation in the Centennial International Philatelic Exhibition held in New York City that month.  This was the tenth stamp to be issued by Monaco portraying Roosevelt since his death the preceding April (nine stamps – general issue, airmail, semi-postal, and airmail semi-postal – had been released on 13 December 1946).  There’s also a slight design error; see if you can spot something unusual about the president’s left hand…

Happy Collecting!

Leave a Reply

