Postcards, Today's Mail

Today’s Mail – 11th July 2015

20150711-Card001b

Only one piece of mail arrived today – a Postcrossing card from Taiwan.  I’ve been a member of the international postcard exchange project since July 2006 and this is only the 30th card I’ve received which now matches my number of sent cards exactly.  You can tell I haven’t exactly been a heavy user! 

Part of the reason I’m not a heavier mailer is that I rarely have time to get to the post office to send items; if I use a postal kiosk in the shopping center where I work, they try to charge double the face value (15 baht for international postcards) for the stamps.  Unusually, many post offices don’t carry the small 15-baht stamps as these are usually sold (again, at a premium) in tourist-oriented shops or the privately-operated postal kiosks.  Under new regulations imposed by the current military regime of Thailand (the junta took power following a relatively peaceful coup a little over a year ago), foreigners must now present their passports when mailing anything, including postcards!

At any rate, every year I make the resolution to send more postcards and never seem to do that.  I’ll write-up this particular card in a bit more detail on my postcard-only blog

Happy Collecting!

Leave a Reply

