My Life in Stamps, Supplies, Today's Mail

Today’s Mail–1st September 2015

Scan_20150901 (9)

The first day of September brought more stamps to my home than I received in all of August.  I’ve been working on several thematic collections lately, including one dealing with President Franklin D. Roosevelt.  Although he is famous in philately as for having been an avid stamp collector, very few stamps have been issued portraying him as such.  I didn’t receive any of those today (already owning the issue from Monaco) but a mix of 30 stamps from Central and South American countries issued in commemoration of his 1945 death are a nice addition to my FDR topical collection.  I couldn’t resist the cover pictured below which was sent to Mr. Roosevelt at the White House from France, formerly a part of the presidential collection.

Scan_20150901 (5)

In honor of my upcoming 50th birthday, I am also putting together a collection on pages showing “My Life In Stamps.”  I was adopted within the first month of my birth back in December 1965, through Hope Cottage in Dallas TX, and wanted to find a few stamps bringing attention to the adoption of children.  I’ve only found one – Scott #3298 from the United States, issued in 2000 – and bought a first day cover with Fleetwood cachet.

Scan_20150901 (7)

Finally, I received a packet of Stanley Gibbons stamp hinges which weren’t a humidity-glued solid mass as were the packages of Prinz hinges received a couple of months ago.  I can’t wait until I have a bit of free time so that I can hinge a few hundred stamps onto my self-printed pages, finally getting them out of the stock pages and into a “real” album…

Happy Collecting!

Leave a Reply

